Waiting for You in the City (一座城,在等你) by Jiu Yue Xi 玖月晞 ~ Chapter 43

The light in the living room is dusky , there’s a lonely slipper there.

Inside the bathroom, the water is on and making a noise. A naked man and woman are leaning on the wall.

Xu Qin is hold up by him, her position of hanging in the air makes her feels unsafe and sensitive. She shivers and hugs his neck. Their bodies are so close with each other, she vents her feeling by kissing his neck.

Song Yan stops for a while and pecks her sideburns and laughs lowly: “Take it easy. Don’t bite my neck, it’s not good for anyone to see.”

“Oh.” Xu Qin replies and says with a light voice: “But I couldn’t control myself, what should I do?”

She rarely provokes him openly, this makes Song Yan feels happy. He laughs at her and says with a hoarse voice: “Then no need to endure it anymore.”

No need to endure it.

Her desire and feeling from the bottom of heart, whether it’s hatred or love, she could release it as much as she likes.

In the middle of the bathroom, the mirror is covered with mist.

The sky turns dark outside.

He holds her to the bed to go to sleep.

On the bed on his embrace, she uses her fingers to stroke his ear. He opens up his eyes: “You are not sleeping?”

“Your breath sprays to my ear, it’s itchy.” She says.

Song Yan repositions himself: “What about this way?”

“Great.” She also turns her body and hugs his waist.

He loses a bit of his sleepiness and asks: “Today are you so tired?”

“Not really. I have used to this.”

“Do you have any trouble at work?” He seems to be so interested toward her job.

Xu Qin thinks about it: “No ah. ….. Oh, there’s a trouble in other group.”

She rubs her eyes and says slowly: “Today there’s a pregnant woman who had a car accident. She was in a critical condition. Doctor Li handled that patient, and she planned to save the adult as in that situation, saving the baby would mean losing both lives. … But the family of the man wasn’t willing to give any consent. They want the baby boy.”

“Then.”

“Both of them are dead.”

Song Yan laughs coldly.

“At the hospital, for these matters we are used to it.” Xu Qin is much calmer than him. She considers and asks: “What about you?”

“What about me?”

“Would you choose to save the adult or the baby?”

“Nonsense, of course I would save you.”

Xu Qin smiles and squeezes closer to him. She asks: “What if my body is weak, and giving birth to a kid would mean harming my life.”

“Then no need to give birth to one. I and you aren’t like other people, we don’t have any palace that need heir.” He unexpectedly have interest to jeer at her. She kicks him lightly for a while.

But suddenly she remembers about the blind date partner, who Fu Wen Ying arranged for her.

That man has money and appearance, he has a good education and talent. That man said to her: “You don’t need to do anything, you also could just stay unemployed. Marrying into my family means you could enjoy your life. As long as you could give birth to a son.”

Xu Qin thinks of it and couldn’t help but to hug Song Yan even tighter.

“Song Yan?” Xu Qin raises her head.

“Em?” He seems to be sleepy but he opens his eyes.

“What do you like from me?”

He thinks about it seriously for few seconds and at last he says: “I don’t know.”

“You don’t know?” Xu Qin frowns,”Your words feel like I have no strong point.”

Song Yan laughs: “If for now, if I know you in a blind date, I would consider: Em, this woman looks beautiful, she has a good temper. She has an honorable job, great family background. For those I would like you. But the time I started to know you. It’s way too early……. Too early. That time I didn’t consider anything, I was just moved. No one might understand it, I even couldn’t know why……”

He says it slowly and he suddenly hit by his sleepiness. She listens to him calmly and doesn’t disturb him.

I like you not because of your strong or weak points; but because I like you, I would like everything about you.

Xu Qin suddenly feels sorry. She clearly likes him, yet she kept on considering about him, she was comparing him.

But now because she likes him, she is even more sensitive, she cares about him.

“Xu Qin.” He suddenly speaks up.

“Ah?”

“In the future you should talk more with me.” He closes his eyes and acts like he is talking in his sleep.

“…… What should I talk?”

“Whatever your heart thinks, no need to hold it inside. Just like in the past, if you are happy just laugh. If you are unhappy then just lose your temper.” He notices that she isn’t responding: “Em?”

“Okay.”

He holds her and falls asleep. In his daze, he hears her says: “Sometimes I am very envious so those women who have eyes that could show their feelings. I also want that kind of eyes.”

“Why?” He really feels so sleepy.

“They don’t need to say their feeling out loud as their eyes could show it.” But her eyes always silent and constrained.

Xu Qin looks at his face, his eyes are closed. His breath turns even and long. He is asleep. His arm is still hugging her.

Under the darkness, he lets go off her inflexible and strong appearance. He looks soft and weak. Yet he is willing to show it to her.

She could hear his heartbeat. His temperature could be felt on her cheek. She could smell his scent. This time she is so happy.

She didn’t know what sweet feeling is, but now she could taste it.

………

The time Xu Qin arrives at the hospital, it’s just a minute before her working time starts.

Xiao Xi is curious: “Xu Yi Sheng, you always come fifteen minutes before the working time, what happened to you recently?”

Xu Qin says: “These days I woke up a bit later.”

Xiao Bei: “Recently do you feel very tired so you sleep longer?” She looks at Xu QIn: “But recently I notice that your face’s complexion looks much better.”

Xu Qin: “…..”

Xiao Nan: “Em, your face is rosy and very moist.”

Xu Qin: “…..”

She keeps on being silent and wears her doctor’s white robe.

Xiao Bei: “Oh right, Xu Yi Sheng, I brought a porridge for you. You should eat it up now. Later on you would so busy to eat.”

Xu Qin: “I have had my breakfast.” She gives the money to Xiao Bei: “In the future, no need to bring me any breakfast anymore.”

“No need to be afraid to trouble me, Xiao Dong and Xiao Xi also need me to bring them one.”

“I would have breakfast at home.” Xu Qin says and leaves.

The nurses are looking at each other.

Xiao Xi: “ Is Xu Yi Sheng dating?”

Xiao Dong: “Impossible, there’s nothing different from her.”

Xiao Nan: “In the working hours she shows no difference but during the break, she always keeps on looking on her phone. In the past she never touched her phone but now she keeps on busy sending message, she even smiles. She makes me scared!”

Xiao Bei: “I am so curious, what kind of man could make the cold Xu Yi Sheng laughs.”

“Woooo——-“ All of them nods.

The time it’s almost the afternoon, 120 center gets a call for coming to rescue people.

There’s someone splashing a gasoline and lighting a fire on a public bus, the time the rescue team arrives at the scene, the bus has flaming up like a lantern.

It’s fortunate that all the passengers are out. The firefighters extinguish the fire quickly.

The victims are sent to the hospital. They only suffer a minor injury. They are gathered in a place and be treated one by one.

Xu Qin is just finished treating a patient, and suddenly someone is calling her: “Sao Zi (Sister-in-law).”

She doesn’t pay attention to that voice at first but that someone keeps on calling: “Sao Zi!” It seems that someone is calling her. She also feels familiar with that voice. Xu Qin looks back and recognizes that someone as Di Miao.

Di Miao waves at her and runs toward her.

Xu Qin examines her, her clothes are in a mess. The hem of her shirt is burnt.

Xu Qin: “You were on the bus?”

“Right.”

“Are you injured?”

“No.” Di Miao lifts her chin and somehow she resembles Song Yan. She says: “It’s me who used the hammer to break the glass and guided everyone to go out. If I weren’t there, now you would not be so free, you would perform surgery.”

Xu Qin: “…..”

She recalls the night Song Yan taught her how to break the glass and flee. It shows how he cares about her.

Di Miao immediately says: “It’s great that I have a firefighter as my family member so I could handle this matter. It would be too shameful for my Ge if I couldn’t help. Sao Zi, what do you think?”

Xu Qin is startled. She is shocked that now Di Miao is addressing her in different way—— Song Yan already told Di Miao that they are together now?

“It’s better for you to just call me Xu Qin.”

“No I couldn’t do it. My Ge said it that I need to show respect to you, if not he would beat me.”

Xu Qin: “…….”

“My Pa Ma also told me that I couldn’t do it as his Mei Mei (Younger sister).”

Xu Qin: “………”

This means that Jiu Jiu Jiu Ma also knows about their relationship? It’s obvious the last time they met, they dislike her…….

“Though I was unhappy toward you but it’s because I thought of you as a stranger, now we are a family. I wouldn’t act as annoying as before. In the future you would know how great and kind I am.” Di Miao says: “So let’s start new now.”

Xu Qin: “……….”

Family.

What did Song Yan say to his family>

She doesn’t know that actually said nothing much toward his family.

It’s just one day during the dinner, he said in simple way: “Now I and Xu Qin are together.”

As for the other things, his action could show everything.

Xu Qin says: “Your hem of your top is burnt. Do you want to change into another cloth? I have a spare.”

“It’s okay.” Di Miao pats her cloth: “I could change it at home.”

Xu Qin frowns and touches Di Miao’s elbow. She notices a light pink powder. It’s the same one that she saw on Song Yan’s elbow.

“What is this?” Xu Qin asks.

Di Miao is startled and explains: “Chalk. Maybe I got it from the University blackboard .”

Xu Qin is half believing and half doubting her.

Di Miao notices something is wrong with her expression, she thinks that it should be related with Song Yan. She immediately makes up a deficiency: “Maybe at home too, as my Pa also used chalk to give mark during the carpentry work.”

“Oh.” Xu Qin nods, she isn’t frowning anymore.

Di Miao sees Xu Qin’s face, she knows that her guess is right. She immediately has unspoken criticism inside her heart: Song Yan ah Song Yan, I’m just a young woman, but I am okay with you taking me too be a coolie, but now I should give play a smart role to help you coo your wife. You should give me an iMac. But just forget it, he should save his money for his wife.

She looks at Xu Qin again and feels a bit jealous of her, jealous that she could have a good young woman like her. Which young woman would want to buy a handbag for Sao Zi when she is just a student.

Xu Qin notices that Di Miao is watching her. Her expression is too unusual, she is kind and friendly. She feels a bit unfamiliar with it. She shifts her gaze and puts her hands inside her pocket. She says: “If you are okay, you should go home early.”

“Okay, you could go on with your work.” Di Miao waves her hand at her.

Xu Qin nods and turns her body to leave.

Di Miao watches her leave and suddenly remembers the morning of the first snow when the sun was shinning so bright and the sky was fine.

She raised her head and looked at Song Yan: “Why are you guys together again? She might agree to be with you now but what if in the future, she backs out and runs away?”

Song Yan says: “In the past she didn’t know how good it is to be with me, in the future she would know it.”

For a stranger, they might laugh for this man’s overconfident attitude, but Di Miao knows that it’s true promise.

Di Miao looks at Xu Qin’s back figure and sighs. She is really jealous of her.

Yet Xu Qin, this time please don’t betray my Ge.

………

On Friday after getting off work, Xu Qin goes to the parking area. As usual she takes out her phone and calls Song Yan. She tells him that she is done with her work and she wouldn’t work overtime.

She drives her car and arrives ten minutes later. Song Yan also needs around ten minutes to go to her apartment.

They set out at the same time, so they could meet each other outside the apartment building.

Most of the time, he would arrive earlier than her. He would wait for her under the tree while he is smoking too. They usually would go together to the supermarket to buy ingredients to cook.

But today the time she takes out her phone, Xu Qin suddenly remembers that every time he would arrive earlier than her so today she wants to be the one who is waiting for him.

She puts away her phone and just drives out her car out of the parking area. On the way she waits till a traffic light turns red, then she calls him to tell him that she would be home soon.

She puts down her phone and thinks what would Song Yan’s expression would like. She smiles when she is thinking about that.

Yet today she has a lot of red traffic lights, she is not in a good luck but it doesn’t take a lot of time.

Xu QIn parks the car on the parking area for apartment’s resident. She gets off the car and runs. She runs toward the nearest exit to go up to the lobby. The sky is dark.

At 06:00 p.m, the sky is already dark as it’s late winter in Northern area.

Through the shades of tree, she notices that he has arrived and waits for her outside.

This time his figure is not really clear.

Xu Qin thinks about it and approaches him with lighter steps.

She suddenly jumps to scare him: “Hey!”

But the time she realizes that it’s not right, the man is not Song Yan.

But it’s too late.

She couldn’t control her body that charges into that man.

That man seems to her her voice and turns his body. She pounces into his embrace. She is hugging his waist.

Yet Meng Yan Chen just holds her tightly by instinct.

One Reply to “”

Leave a comment