Waiting for You in the City (一座城,在等你) by Jiu Yue Xi 玖月晞 ~ Epilogue

At five o’clock when it’s time to get off the work, Xu Qin is still reading book in her office.

The new intern passes by her room and gets inside to take a look at her: “Xu Yi Sheng (Doctor Xu), you aren’t going home ah?”

Xu Qin: “Em, I’ll wait for a while.”

Another doctor, Tong Yi Sheng (Doctor Tong) passes by and smiles: “She has a boyfriend that would pick her up.”

“Oh, you are so happy——-“

“Exactly, he is tall and handsome, he is also good at pampering.’

Xu Qin smiles.

“Xu Yi Sheng (Doctor Xu), I’ll go home then!”

“Bye!”

All the distractions are gone, Xu Qin reads her books for a while. Ten minutes later, she closes her book and takes her bag. She goes outside and closes her office room.

Getting off work ten minutes later makes her able to pass the peak hour. She passes the hall, it’s so quiet all around.

She goes outside. The weather is so fine today.

The air is fresh. The winter has really passed away.

She gets off the stair and when she is outside, she could see her family white car.

From the window of the car, she could see the man on the driver seat, he is smiling brightly at her.

The car stops beside her.

She opens the door and gets on the car. When she is inside the car, she leans closer ad kisses Song Yan’s cheek.

Today it’s weekend, there’s a traffic jam.

Song Yan lowers his speed and holds her hand with one of his hands. He massages it slowly.

Every time he is with her, he couldn’t help but to get closer to her, it’s hard to explain.

“Are you tired today after working?”

“No, this is nothing compared to my workload at the emergency department. What about you?

“I”m also quite relaxed.”

Xu Qin hold his fingers and suddenly asks: “So now you don’t need to do any physical training?”

“Nonsense.”

Song Yan drives the car and suddenly he asks her: “What is it? Why do you look so disappointed?”

Xu Qin: “What would happen if you don’t have your muscle anymore?”

Song Yan: “……..”

He laugh: “You like my muscles?’

Xu Qin says “Right.”

“Then it’s easy. Everyday I would put you on my back then I would do push up. I would carry you and do a squat. It’ll be okay.”

Xu Qin imagines it and thinks that it’s great. Her eyes turn bright and she nods.

———

They went to buy groceries first before they go home. When they go home, Xu Qin looks around, the plants and trees around the house are starting to blooming. It’s so great.

She says: “So this one is Magnolia tree.”

He looks at the Magnolia tree: “Yes it’s been here for so many years.” In the very beginning, when he bought this courtyard, it’s been there.

He continues: “What kind of trees or plants do you like, we could plant it all around.”

“I don’t really understand it.”

“No need to worry, we could take ti slow.” He says: “Next time I would explain it to you. I could provide you a list and you could choose?”

“You would take responsibility to plant it?”

“IF not?” He laughs and asks.

They pass the garden and go toward the kitchen.

Xu Qin couldn’t cook, but she is happy to cook for Song Yan.

But Song Yan would only let her to wash the veggies, he even doesn’t let her to touch the knife. He said that her hands are used to hold the scalpel, he is worried if she injures it.

Xu Qin doesn’t act stubbornly, she would just watch and talk to her. She would prepare the plates and utensils.

A plate of fried fish, a sautéed veggies, a soup. It’s enough for them.

After the dinner, she lays on his embrace. They both are enjoying the night view on the balcony.

During that time, she remembers their moment when they were high school students.

During the high school, there’s a moment when he loved to skip class. The teachers had given up on him. But he always missed her so he always ran to find her. One time, he ran to the school and went to their class.

Song Yan watched Xu Qin for a while and couldn’t control himself. He finally got in the classroom.

The teacher asked: “What are you doing?”

He said: “I’m looking for Xu Qin, I want to give her something.”

Xu Qin was busy answering questions, she lifted up her head and looked at him.

He smiled and walked toward her table. Then he stopped in front of her table. He bent his body and kissed her forehead.

Xu Qin was unprepared.

His back blocked the teacher’s view. But all the students, who were sitting on the backseat, could see it .

“Wow!” Everyone shouts.

The teacher didn’t understand what’s going on. “Why are you guys making noise?”

Xu Qin blushed and glared at him, he laughed: “I would wait for you at the front gate after the class ends.”

Bye.

That time they were so romantic and cheesy. Just like now, they are so happy to have each other around.

Even though it’s just washing veggies or looking at the stars.

He is done with his book, he stretches his back and prepares to go back to the bedroom to watch movie. She immediately puts away her book too. She wants to go back to the bedroom wit him.

They are laying on the big bed and watching movie. They listen to the music, kiss. They are enjoying their life.

The lights are off.

When it’s time to sleep.

They both lay down.

She hugs his neck and just wants to sleep. Suddenly she remembers something: “Have you gotten all the materials?”

“Yes, what about you? You have asked for a leave tomorrow right.”

“Yes.”

Song Yan smiles: “What reason did you tell them?”

“What else could I say, I just say that I want to register my marriage.” Xu Qin laughs and says: “What about you?”

“I’ll go to marry my wife.”

She laughs.

“Xu Qin.”

“Em?”

“Everyone is saying that marriage is like a city. Do you want to get into this city?” Song Yan looks at her seriously.

“With you, I want it. I am willing to be locked in that city by you, forever.”

He smiles and kisses her.

She feels that in this world no one knows and understands her like him.

She thinks that if in the future they would have a kid, he/ she would be called Song Zhi Xu (Song know Xu).

88Tang’s Note:

Hi, guys.

Finally it’s the end. I don’t know why but I really like this novel. Somehow Song Yan and Xu Qin’s story is so intruguing for me just like the story of Duan Jia Xu and Sang Zhi. Hope you feel the same 🙂

Thank you for your support for my translation. I’m sorry that I am quite slow these months. I’m starting my new job so I’m quite busy nowadays. I will continue to update my other novel translation projects. My new project to replace this one is For the Rest of My Life by Twentine. I love Twentine and I have read all of her novel. She is so great and unique author. Her style of writing could make you unable to put down the book till you reach the end. Just like this novel it’s bitter sweet kind of novel. The choice of male lead is quite something (not a perfect guy) :). I hope you would enjoy that novel too. 🙂

Last but not least, keep yourself safe, healthy and positive in this though time!

Love,

88 Tang

10 Replies to “Waiting for You in the City (一座城,在等你) by Jiu Yue Xi 玖月晞 ~ Epilogue”

  1. Thank you for your hard work! I was a bit impatient so I read the mtl but im glad to reread the story since you translated it. Cant wait for your next novel:)

    Like

  2. Yippee 🙌💃 it’s a happy ending!!!!!!

    You’ve been so great in this translation, I really appreciate your commitment and hardwork.

    Thank you 88tang.

    Like

  3. Thanks for novel and your translation. I really enjoy it.
    Quick question, will you still continue with Strawberries kiss mark? Thank you again.

    Like

Leave a comment