Waiting for You in the City (一座城,在等你) by Jiu Yue Xi 玖月晞 ~ Chapter 46

Xu Qin at once looks at Meng Huai Jin, she looks nervous.

Meng Huai Jin also frowns and sighs: “Qin Qin ah, a woman always traps inside love, you could be blinded by it so easily. Papa is worried that you would be deceived.”

Xu Qin answers: “He wouldn’t lie to me, I have nothing for him to lie about.”

Meng Huai Jin shakes his head and says sincere words and earnest wishes: “Your words sound like you are blind because of love. A person’s heart is always so complex and complicated. You couldn’t be sure that you would be see his heart clear just several days of interaction. You have a lot of things but what he possesses may not suitable for you. You should consider our family’s background, your education background, your work prospect, don’t you think there’s a huge gap between you guys? An unsuitable match would result in a bad result. During dating you could neglect and doesn’t care about anything but the time you are about to get married, you guys would know that there is huge gap between you guys. There would be problems.

Xu QIn turns calm for a while and says: “I don’t see there’s a problem between us whether it is a major or minor….. except your guys’ opposition.”

Fu Wen Ying frowns and wants to speak up, but Meng Huai Jin gives her warning from his gaze. He continues to say to Xu Qin:

“Papa knows that now you are considering I and your ma as hostile forces. But Papa still wants you to consider seriously, how long have you known and interacted with each other, what could you understand from him? Now there might be a problem-free situation, but it doesn’t show that in the future there would be no problem. Let me give a practical example, you like to eat French cuisine, you could eat 3000-4000 Yuan meal, but he, he might only able to take you to eat 100-200 Yuan meal of roasted skewer. Of course you also eat it together with him everyday, but what about him? Could he follow you to eat that 3000-4000 Yuan French cuisine. He would feel that it would be wasteful compare to his salary. Clothes, food, house, profession…. it might creates problems in life. It’s not only your guys’ consumption level and money matter, but you guys also have different views of life. Your living environment is too different from him, of course it would make you guys have different perspective of the difficulties of life.”

Xu Qin says seriously: “Pa, I understand your point. But I also have been thinking for a long time. Last week I also kept on considering it.”

“So what’s your conclusion?”

“I have considered it well.” Xu Qin says: “Now I don’t want to eat French cuisine anymore, I also don’t want to eat roasted skewer. I just want to eat the dishes he cooks for me. These ten years I had spent my life eating out in restaurants, I am sick of it. In the future, I want to eat at my home.”

Meng Huai Jin and Fu Wen Ying are startled at the same time, they don’t expect that she would say something like that. These years, she never expressed any of her feeling, she also never be disobedient to her parents. This is her first time.

She likes a Russian matryoshka doll, who sits on the built-in wardrobe, that could have its own thought now.

Fu Wen Ying: “Has he brain washed your mind? You even don’t want to listen to us again?”

Meng Huai Jin stops Fu Wen Ying and sighs: “Qin Qin ah, your thought is too simple, you stress your thought much on your feeling. When the feeling is still great, every water would be sweet. But there’s no love, the sweet water would be bitter. That time a person’s temper would be ugly. When there’s no money, someone could fight……. it’s just you might never see it. In this relationship, he seems to be the one that ‘sits idle and enjoys the fruits of others’ work. Knowing you, he should try hard to work hard? But look at him, he has no car or house or money. Pa Ma have been raising you till now. We have been spoiling you, a lot of people are servicing you. We are not raising you up for washing dishes, moping floor, washing clothes and cooking for others. We provide you with the best things, we let you be worry-free for clothing and food, we don’t do it for you to help out your husbands’s family’s financial.”

Xu Qin’s eyes turn red.

“We as your parents, we have experienced deeper than you, we don’t want to regret in the future. For this great matter, you should listen to your parents’ objection.

He is speaking in earnest tone, Xu Qin is visibly moved by him, but……

“Pa, I know that you are worried and love me dearly, you guys don’t trust him, but I know clearly what kind of person he is. Couldn’t you guys trust me? Moreover in this relationship, I am the one who ‘sit idle and enjoy the fruits of his work’. Besides……”

All of her life, it’s her first time to discuss with her parents, she wants to express a lot of matters, but her reason turns very messy. She stops in the midpoint, she had prepared a lot of things to talk about Song Yan.

At last she only says. “I really like him.”

Her voice is very soft and weak.

“I like him very much, every day I would miss him….. Meeting him would make me very happy, I…… I just want to be happy, couldn’t I?’

“You sound like the days of not meeting him make you feel so unhappy? Why?”

Her tip of nose turns red, she takes a deep breath and be more composed. She looks at Fu Wen Ying and says: “Mama, tell me. I understand that no one could get everything they want.” She nods, “If being with him, I must lose everything and make my life wouldn’t be so simple; If being with him, I should face those difficulties that you said. Then….. I want to choose him, could I?….. I want him, okay?”

These years she never said, Papa, Mama, I want my doll to have curly hair. I don’t want the straight hair doll that you chose for me; I want my bedroom’s color to be in deep lube, I don’t want it to be in off-white; For my birthday party, I want to eat Liang City’s local food, I don’t want to eat the local food here….

She never said that.

She never expressed her liking before, not even once.

Meng Huai Jin frowns and says nothing.

Fu Wen Ying also stays silent, she realizes that Xu Qin has changed a lot. She couldn’t believe, she also couldn’t permit. These kind of rebellion and disobedience are great climes in her view.

She asks lightly: “You would lose your parents and relatives, you would lose your all family, you still want to choose him?”

Xu Qin is startled and looks at her; Xu Qin’s expression is too cold and sealed off. She looks at her coldly.

“Why does Mama need to do it that way?”

“If not what should I do? I should let you do what you want?! Qin Qin, look at your several Bo Fu (Uncle) and Gu Ma (Auntie), your Tang Ge (Male cousin) and Tang Jie (Cousin). Meng family could get into this position, it’s not because of depending on kindly feeling, and it’s also not depending on so-what happiness that you said. We should give priority to greater good. We should put our family first. If everyone just does things for their own happiness. Meng family would be lost from our opponent. I am not forcing you to marry anyone but at least you should have a presentable one.” Fu Wen Ying expresses her expression throughly. “For this matter, there’s no negotiation.”

Xu Qin’s face changes, she says nothing.

Fu Wen Ying looks at her face, she knows that she has expressed herself enough and understandable. Then she picks up her chopsticks.

Xu Qin lowers her head and considers why she is treated this way by those who close to her.

She sits down silently there and notices a notch on the edge of the table that she made when she was young.

Her eyes are hot and teary. But she quickly blinks.

She puts her hands on her pocket and takes out a string of keys. She puts it on her table.

The time she loosens her grips, the metal knocks on the wood table, it rings lightly;

There are two sets of keys; her car and apartment keys.

“I also have nothing to negotiate.” Xu Qin says.

“You! ——“ Fu Wen Ying is stunned, her face, which always shows her calm and refined expression, just changes into rage: “You really want to break with your family for a man, you don’t want anything beside him?”

Meng Huai Jin takes his hand and supports his forehead, he is heartbroken and feels helpless.

Xu Qin shakes her head: “Though I would be kicked out of the house, you guys would still be my parents. Your kindness of raising me up, I would reciprocate. Every week I would come back to visit you guys. Even if you guys kick me out, swear to me, or not allowed me to get in, I would stil come over to visit….. If you are unhappy and wants to scold me once every week, or if you don’t want to get angry with me and don’t want to talk to me…… I also would still come to visit you guys.”

Fu Wen Ying feels that Xu Qin is simply turning unthinkable. She laughs coldly and furiously: “You think that by tiresomely pursuing that way, finally one day I would get soft-hearted?”

“No.” Xu Qin looks at her and says: “I don’t have any hope, I also know Pa Ma would not be soft-hearted, you guys might not forgive me. It’s just except doing that way, I already couldn’t find another way.”

“There’s no way, since you want to do it, then there’s no room for negotiate.” Fu Wen Ying says coldly: “Now just go out of this house, the time you have figured things out, you could come back home. If not, then no one would let you in. Don’t think you could come easily appear in front of me.”

Xu Qin’s lips are trembling, she doesn’t move;

Today she has wasted a lot of her energy to talk.

After a while, she looks at Meng Huai Jin.

Meng Huai Jin sighs: “Qin Qin ah, you really let Papa disappoint.” Then he just stands up and leaves.

Xu Qin feels her heart is stabbed, she couldn’t control her feeling anymore. Her tears just fall down.

………….

Song Yan continues to be so busy in two days at home, Di Miao feels strange. She puts away her broom and kneels down on his side. “Ge, if I’m not wrong, these two days are weekends right?”

“Why?” Song Yan is busy with his own business, he doesn’t look up.

“Today before I came out, I ran to your bedroom to see Sao Zi’s work schedule, today she is resting. It’s wrong, since yesterday afternoon 06:00 p.m, she is off.”

“Why?” Song Yan looks at her, he still says the same thing.

“Why aren’t you with her? Tomorrow you would return to the camp, how could you unexpectedly don’t seize the time to be together? Are you fighting?”

Song Yan snorts: “No.”

“Then it means that she is sick of you and getting ready to dump you.”

“Nonsense.” Song Yan pats her head.

“What are you doing? Your hand is full of dust.” Di Miao yells.

Song Yan stands up and goes outside.

“You want to go to find her?”

“Last time I am eyeing something, I want to place an order.” Song Yan looks back: “Let’s go.”

Di Miao is going nuts: “You want to errand and you just ask me out, you should treat me an ice cream!”

…….

Xu Qin stays at Meng house for two days, the atmosphere in the house is so bad.

Fu Wen Ying seems to change her plan, all along she talks calmly to her, she doesn’t argue with her. She also doesn’t rebuke or scold her. Yet Xu Qin feels much more pressured.

In the afternoon Fu Wen Ying speaks up: “Accompany Mama out to stroll around.”

Xu Qin consents.

Fu Wen Ying goes to the department store that she usually goes. It’s a department store that full of luxurious stores. There’re only few people around. The time they enter a store, the sales assistant welcomes them and says: “Meng Tai Tai, Meng Xiao Jie, welcome.”

She serves them water, desserts, and tea.

“In our store, there’re newly coming and limited edition products. I have kept them especially for you. Recently there’re lots of our clients are searching for those things. They want those things, but the manager has asked to let you choose first.”

Fu Wen Ying sips her tea and says lightly: “Show us.”

Xu Qin turns quiet and understands why Fu Wen Ying takes her here today.

…………..

Di Miao holds her ice cream cone and walks around the department store. “Indeed it’s weekend, there are lot of people here.”

No one speaks up.

The time she turns her head around. Song Yan is buying doughnuts.

Di Miao is happy and runs over toward him: “Ge.”

Song Yan throws a small plastic at her and holds the big box.

Di Miao looks at him: “Who is it for?”

Song Yan smiles and says nothing.

“You lay stress more on woman than your sister.” Di Miao ridicules him.

Song Yan says: “If I couldn’t meet her before I go back to the camp, tonight give this to her.”

Di Miao rolls her eyes and says sourly: “Ahyoo, why this box of doughnuts feel like it’s even pricey than gold.”

Song Yan stops walking and looks at the cosmetic counter, which is selling lipsticks. He looks around. Though these brands are famous but as a man, he could differentiate. He just depends on the most expensive ones.

Di Miao still doesn’t drop the idea: “Recently I help you big time, don’t you want to reward me?”

Song Yan chooses the color and doesn’t even look at Di Miao. “Brat, why should little kid apply lipstick?”

Di Miao is speechless: “Wow, you are acting differently after you have a girlfriend. You keep on thinking of her. As your Mei Mei, was I picked up somewhere?”

Song Yan hears her and glances at her. He shows no expression and seems to not really listening to her. He just focuses on selecting the lipstick.

Di Miao: “………..”

She finally stops and looks up. She uses her to motion of stabbing her heart thrice.

……….

Fu Wen Ying takes Xu Qin to settle the bill to buy the bags. They don’t need to take anything out as the store would send the things back to their home.

Xu Qin says nothing on the way, she just follows behind Fu Wen Ying.

“You want to be persistent on your own ways to me, I also could do something to control you.” Fu Wen Ying laughs calmly and says: “I’ve said it, I wouldn’t agree to it, I wouldn’t change my attitude.”

Xu Qin looks around the elevator and acts like an expressionless person.

They both exit the department store and stands on the road side to wait for the driver taking the car over.

But the car that comes over is not their car and the same driver. A car stops in front of them and the driver gets off the car. It’s a man around Meng Yan Chen’s age. He is wearing suit.

“Fu A Yi (Auntie Fu),” He passes the car’s front and looks at Xu Qin: “This is Qin Qin Mei Mei (Sister Qin Qin)?”

Xu Qin is startled and just remembers that this man should be the one that Fu Wen Ying mentioned it.

She didn’t expect that Fu Wen Ying would………

Xu Qin couldn’t calm down, she couldn’t maintain her composure anymore: “I have….”

Fu Wen Ying cuts her off: “Driver Chen goes to pick up your Ge, your Han Ting Ge Ge (Brother Han Yan) helps to pick us up to go home. Remember to thank him.”

Xu Qin watches her and doesn’t know whether she is saying the truth or lie.

“Let’s get on the car.” The man smiles and opens the front passenger’s seat door.

Xu Qin considers for a while and gets ready to get on the car. She notices something, then she turns her head over and notices that Song Yan is standing not far away. He is looking at her.

Xu Qin’s back turns cold.

Song Yan is calm.

But Di Miao’s face is so slightly, yet in a next second, she smiles and yells: “Sao Zi!”

Fu Wen Ying and that man are startled at the same time.

Di Miao runs over toward her: “Sao Zi, why are you here now?”

That man’s face just turns surprised: “What are you calling her?”

“She is my Ge’s boyfriend, If I don’t call her Sao Zi, what should I call her? Sao Zi, who is this man?”

Xu Qin has no time to answer as Fu Wen YIng speaks up: “Qin Qin has no boyfriend.”

Fu Wen Ying looks at Xu Qin like she is warning Xu Qin to anticipate her to refute at this situation. Yet,

“I have.” Xu Qin raises her hand and points at Song Yan: “There.”

Fu Wen Ying’s face changes but in next second, she maintains her smile. She says: “She is making fuss, our family doesn’t approve, they break up.”

That man says nothing and be a bystander at that situation.

Di Miao listens to Fu Wen Ying’s words and couldn’t endure it anymore. She suddenly holds Xu Qin’s arm and says: “Ay, Xu Qin, this is your Mama right? Is she right? You also think it that way? This is just making a fuss, you just want to play and break up? ……. You want to break up then you break up? My Ge indeed said those words, but Xu Qin you are…” She is so furious that her eyes are red: “Don’t bully him that bad.”

Xu Qin is startled and shakes her head.

She looks at Song Yan again. He is just standing there and watching her calmly.

She knows that he is waiting for her reply. These ten days he keeps on waiting.

She forgets that she hasn’t said those words.

He said no matter tomorrow would be windy or raining, just be together today. if tomorrow she wants to break up, then they would just break up. But, no.

On that snowy day the time she decided to be with him, she has aware of something. But she forgets to tell him.

She walks toward him and stands in front of him with only one or two meters between them.

Her eyes are red, she looks at her and says with a trembling voice:

“Song Yan……. during that first snowing day, it’s too rushed. I have a lot of things I haven’t told you. At first I I wanted to tell you. I’m sorry, that I’m late.”

“Song Yan, I would love you.” She says: “I would try hard with all my might to love you for tomorrow and days ahead.”

“This time I would absolutely not betray you.”

3 Replies to “Waiting for You in the City (一座城,在等你) by Jiu Yue Xi 玖月晞 ~ Chapter 46”

  1. I can’t stand her parents! for them people are worth nothing if they don’t have money or status, it’s so unfortunate … I hope she goes ahead without paying attention to them
    Thank so much!! I will be waiting for the next episodes

    Liked by 1 person

  2. To this family she found herself in, it’s just a pity….so much pity

    She can’t love freely, can’t associate freely…. everything is all about status and wealth….she going through great pressure here…

    Thanks for the multiple updates Tangtang….. trust you’re keeping safe?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment