Secretly, Secretly; But Unable to Hide it (偷偷藏不住) by Zhu Yi (竹已)~ Chapter 46

His words are like fireworks, Sang Zhi’s mind feels like it will explode soon. She opens up her mouth but she couldn’t say anything.

She feels her heart is coming out of her body.

Thump, thump.

It seems to cover up the sound of the wind.

Sang Zhi’s palms start to sweat though the weather is quite cool.

Duan Jia Xu lets her wrists go and turns his body. He stands in front of her.

Sang Zhi is taken by surprise to shift her gaze.

Duan Jia Xu lends his body over, he looks at her eyes for two seconds then pulls her scar.

It exposes her face.

The young girl’s facial features are elegant, the corner of her mouth is raised up. She has two dimples, her eyes are glistening. She shifts his gaze and looks at him again.

Because of the allergy, her face is a bit swollen and shows few rashes.

But it looks like she is just blushing.

Duan Jia Xu’s eyes turn dark, his Adam apple starts to move. He lifts up his arm and uses his finger to stroke her dimple.

Sang Zhi’s back turns stiff.

It happens so fast that Duan Jia Xu just retreats his hand. He stands up and laughs: “How could you blush?”

“…….”

He continues: “You also laugh up by yourself.”

Sang Zhi’s mind is at loss. She takes her scarf from her and pretends to be serious. She lowers her eyes and says: “Aren’t you laughing too?”

Duan Jia Xu is full of interest: “Then tell me why do I laugh?”

“How could I know? It’s not the first time for you to laugh this way?” Sang Zhi passes him and continues to walk forward and says: “Don’t stand here, it’s too cold.”

Duan Jia Xu watches her back and stands there for few seconds. He smiles and follows her.

They get on the car but Sang Zhi doesn’t take off her scarf.

Duan Jia Xu starts the car and says: “Xiao Peng You, why aren’t you taking off your scarf? Don’t you feel it will be suffocated?”

Sang Zhi explains calmly: “I am covering my face.”

“I already saw it before.” Duan Jia Xu finds this funny: “Why should you cover it again?

Sang Zhi stops and think this is reasonable. She takes off her scarf and says nothing else. She plays with her phone and looks at the window.

When the traffic light turns red, Duan Jia Xu seizes the time to look at her.

He could only see her side of face.

Her fingers are knocking on the window, her eyes are hanging low. She smiles like she couldn’t control her feeling. After a while, she seems to notice her action. Her expression stiffs. Perhaps she is afraid that he would notice it. In a next moment, she purposely restrains herself.

Duan Jia Xu withdraws his gaze and smiles.

—–

Because tomorrow is the weekend, this moment there’s only Ning Wei in the dorm. The other two roommates are joining the department activity or going on date with the boyfriend.

Noticing the movement, Ning Wei looks over and the time she looks at Sang Zhi’s face. She is shocked: “What happened to your face?”

“I accidentally drank milk tea.” Sang Zhi places the thing on the table: “I am allergic to milk.”

“Ah, are you okay? Have you gone to the hospital?”

“Yes, I got an injection.”

“Then it’s great.” Ning Wei sighs, “You are too tragic, if you are allergy toward milk, that it means that you couldn’t eat a lot of things ah?”

Sang Zhi thinks about it: “It’s not that bad.”

She takes off her coat and asks: “Why aren’t you going out tonight?”

“I went out ah, but just for a dinner.” Ning Wei tore open a pocket of potato chip, “My boyfriend tonight has a homework that he needs to finish. He has no time to accompany me. You ah, how was your date with that Ge Ge?”

Hearing this Sang Zhi turns quiet, suddenly she goes to her side and kneels down.

Ning Wei looks at her and passes the pack of potato chips to her: “You want to eat this?”

“I don’t, I am full.” Sang Zhi looks like a little dog, her eyes are round and bright. She wants to tell a great secret. “Ning Wei, Let me tell you a secret.”

“What?”

“My Ge Ge’s friend,” Sang Zhi holds her hem of top and smiles: “Seems to like me a bit.”

“You look like you are winning a lottery.” Ning Wei is amused by her: “How could you notice it?”

“He said to his colleagues that I am his friend, he also asked me if I see him as my Ge?” Sang Zhi says while mimicking Duan Jia Xu’s tone.

“Ay, doesn’t it mean that he doesn’t want to admit his relative carelessly?”

Sang Zhi blinks: “Do you think this is because he wants to drift apart from me?”

Ning Wei feels that her words are a bit wrong, she is afraid to influence her mood. She says quickly: “No, I just say it randomly.”

“It might be not.” Sang Zhi rethinks about what happened before. She says seriously: “He means that he doesn’t think of me as his Mei Mei anymore. but it’s not his intention to drift apart from me.”

“Then does he know that you like him?”

“No ah.” Sang Zhi smiles: “I don’t show it.”

“You could act like you don’t have any feeling toward him let him chase after you for a while time.” Ning Wei says, “After all every man always acts that way. If he confesses and you just agree, it is too easy for him so he might not treasure you.”

Sang is startled and says slowly: “Then what if he doesn’t chase after me?”

“……” Ning Wei says, “Maybe not.”

“Moreover I’m not really sure.” Sang Zhi mumbles: “I don’t know why he likes me….. I also feels it’s weird.

“What could be the reason?” Ning Wei asks: “Then why do you like him?”

Sang Zhi says honestly: “He is handsome.”

“………” Ning Wei says: “How could you be so shallow?”

“Also, he is a good person, he is good toward me.” Sang Zhi says seriously, she starts to list down: “He has a good achievement. Except being a little older, but there’s nothing really bad about him.”

Ning Wei chews her potato chips and says: “Isn’t it the same as you? Except being a bit younger, you also have nothing bad.”

“Then.” Sang Zhi coughs lightly: “Then I just wait till he chase after me?”

“It’s okay.”

“If he doesn’t chase after me.” Sang Zhi has no confident, she just says dryly: “If not I just chase after him.”

“……..”

—–

Duan Jia Xu returns to his car after sending Sang Zhi home to the dorm. The time he is about to start his car, suddenly his phone rings. He looks at the screen and answers it. He quickly hangs up.

He drives the car and bounds for the city center for senior care institution.

Except during the emergency time, Duan Jia Xu rarely comes over here. He also rarely meets Duan Zhi Cheng, who is his father that has been laying unconsciously on the bed for eleven years.

The doctor: “Your father recently isn’t in a good condition.”

Duan Jia Xu: “Em.”

“He has already been laying here for ten years, his health condition and immunity are too bad.” The doctor says, “Recently he has a liquid inside his lung, it’s serious thing. I advise you to do a minor surgery to suck it out. If not, it might leads to lung infection. It’ll be worst later on.”

“Doctor.” Duan Jia Xu doesn’t really care, he just says flatly: “Do you think that he could wake up?”

The doctor is silent for seconds: “As long as he is still alive, then there’ll be a chance that miracle will happen.”

Duan Jia Xu just smiles, he doesn’t say anything about that.

How could there might be any miracle.

Duan Jia Xu actually is still expectant abut it. He still hopes that Duan Zhi Cheng could wake up.

After years, he even doesn’t have any hatred left toward him.

The only thing he feels is only feeling of tiredness.

Duan Jia Xu hangs his eyes low and looks at Duan Zhi Cheng’s appearance. Because of years of being unconsciousness, his appearance has changed a lot. He is laying unconscious like a dead person.

Actually Duan Jia Xu really wants to know whether Duan Zhi Cheng is regretting it or not.

Very quickly, he withdraws his gaze and says gently: “Then sorry to to trouble you guys.

Duan Jia Xu pays for the surgery and also two-month expenses. Then he leaves that place. This matter affects her mood. But very quickly he casts it aside.

He goes back home and sends Sang Zhi a WeChat message.

Then Duan Jia Xu takes out a bottle of cold water out from the fridge. He thinks about Sang Zhi’s response today, he slowly recalls what she said when she was drunk.

— “I have someone that i like. But he doesn’t like me.”

— “Zhi Zhi is unhappy.”

— “He is a good man, he is good toward me. But he always treat anyone good…….”

The one that hurts her heart might not be him right?

Duan Jia Xu feels it’s not too right.

It’s been years for them of not meeting. If she just thinks of him recently, not as her Ge Ge. Then how could she conclude “He doesn’t like me”.

Is it because of his words that thinking of her as a little kid?

Duan Jia Xu thinks about this for short moment then he calls Qian Fei.

Qian Fei answers the call and says: “I’ll give you a minute to talk, then I’ll go to take a shower….”

“What you said before it’s right.” Duan Jia Xu swallows his saliva and says slowly: “The ‘Nan Hu Li Jing’ that she said looks like it’s non-existent.”

“Right? I’m too awesome right. D*mm*t, I’m really a master of love.”

“But if it exists,” Duan Jia Xu says, “Then the person most likely is me.”

“Right!” Qian Fei turns emotional. “The time I heard that description, I just know that it’s you.”

“…….”

“Then should you say it directly to her? Why are you keep on guessing?”

“I couldn’t, I should chase after her.”

“….” Qian Fei finds it is strange, “Didn’t you say that she likes you? Why are you chasing after her?”

“That girl should think that I don’t like her.” Duan Jia Xu says casually: “I should show her my ‘card’ to let make her a bit happier.”

“What do you want to play? Does she know that you also like her?”

“She doesn’t know.” Duan Jia Xu laughs: “I also pretend like I don’t know.”

I should leave a bit of prestige for our family little kid.

Qian Fei says: “You are interested.”

Duan Jia Xu: “Okay, it’s already a minute. Bye.”

“Wait?” Qian Fei says curiously: “Then how do you plan to show your ‘card’?”

Duan Jia Xu raises his eyebrows: “I haven’t thought well about it.”

—–

For Sang Zhi’s eighteen years old birthday, this is the first time she doesn’t celebrate it with her family.

Her birthday is on the weekend. Duan Jia Xu in advance has agreed with her to celebrate it together. That they go out to celebrate it. Sang Zhi arranges it a while. In the mid-afternoon, she eats out with her roommates. She returns to the dorm and waits till the time, then she goes to look for him.

Duan Jia Xu doesn’t drive his car today and just waits for her downstair. he is wearing the black sweatshirt and trousers. He looks like a college student.

Sang Zhi thinks about this and suddenly someone calls after her: “Sang Zhi.”

She turns her head to look at that person.

She notices that Jiang Ming is standing under the tree, he is holding a paper bag. He is smiling happily: “I sent you a WeChat message, have you seen it?”

Sang Zhi touches her phone and says: “I haven’t.”

Jiang Ming says: “It’s okay, I come over to give you a birthday present.”

Sang Zhi hesitates and takes it: “Thank you.”

Jiang Ming: “Are you free today?”

Sang Zhi notices that Duan Jia Xu is watching her, she feels a bit awkward. She forces herself to smile and points at Duan Jia Xu: “Em, I have appointment with someone.”

“Okay.” Jiang Ming looks at Duan Jia Xu, he strokes his nose: “Then I’ll not disturb you again. I’ll leave first.”

Sang Zhi waves his hand: “Em, goodbye.”

She says it and then Jiang Ming leaves.

Sang Zhi walks toward Duan Jia Xu and asks: “Where are we going?”

Duan Jia Xu looks at her and takes the paper bag from her. Sang Zhi just lets him. He smiles and says naturally:” I’ll help you take it.”

“…..” Sang Zhi says: “Oh, just take it.”

They both walk out of the university gate.

Duan Jia Xu asks casually: “That man is that “Nan Hu Li Jing”?”

She just knows that he would mention it.

Sang Zhi is silent for several seconds and says seriously. “No.”

Duan Jia Xu: “Em.”

Sang Zhi couldn’t help but to take a look.

This time, Duan Jia Xu stops walking. “Then take a look.”

Sang Zhi “Ah?”

In a next moment, Duan Jia Xu smiles. He bends down and looks at her. Then he stands up again and smiles. “Are you done?”

Sang Zhi is stupefied.

“Do you think that I look like the Nan Hu Li Jing that you said?” Duan Jia Xu says playfully.”

Leave a comment