Secretly, Secretly; But Unable to Hide it (偷偷藏不住) by Zhu Yi (竹已)~ Chapter 42

The MC starts to get ready. The wedding hall suddenly is filled with a music.

The whole audience starts to be quiet.

It also stops the conversation between Duan Jia Xu and Sang Yan.

Sang Yan just looks coldly at him and takes out his phone.

Duan Jia Xu drinks his water and just laughs.

After ten seconds.

Sang Zhi feels that this matter should be done. She seizes a moment to watch Duan Jia Xu. He is looking at the stage, he is serious in listening to the MC. He doesn’t look at her.

Sang Zhi withdraws her gaze and leans closer to Sang Yan’s ear. She whisper to him. “Ge Ge—“

She hasn’t finished her words, Sang Yan suddenly just cuts her off. “Xiao Gui, don’t call me that way. Now I really want to vomit when I hear that.”

“……” Sang Zhi continues to ask. “What is Jia Xu Ge dong?”

Sang Yan is looking at his phone. Hearing her, he lifts up his head and just passes the phone to her.

Sang Zhi glances at it.

The phone shows a webpage. — Yi He City’s Mental Hospital.

“………”

Sang Yan argues: “I could only help him till this point.”

The next second, Sang Zhi watches Sang Yan passes the phone to Duan Jia Xu. Then he says: “After you go home, you could immediately register to the mental hospital.”

Duan Jia Xu looks at it and says gently: “I really don’t need it, thank you Ge-“

This time without waiting him saying it, Sang Yan just extends his arm and tie Duan Jia Xu’s neck with it. He seems to come to the end of his patience. “I’ve been living for so many years, this is the first time I am called this way.”

Duan Jia Xu is startled but doesn’t struggle. He laughs: “What is it?”

Sang Yan watches him for several seconds and the time Sang Zhi thinks that Sang Yan will beat Duan Jia Xu. He suddenly lets go and looks at Sang Zhi. “Let’s exchange seat.”

Sang Zhi watches them and couldn’t respond. She says “ah” dully. “Why do you want to change your seat with me?”

“If I keep on sitting beside him.” Sang Yan says lightly: “Qian Fei supposedly will think I want to make a fuss.”

“…….”

—–

Sang Zhi changes seat with Sang Yan, Sang Zhi also exchanges their tableware.

She doesn’t look at Duan Jia Xu again. The time she wants to pour a tea to her cup. Her phone vibrates.

Sang Zhi looks at her phone.

Sang Rong is sending a voice not to the family group chat.

She opens it.

Sang Rong: “Zhi Zhi, Papa bought a chocolate cake, I put it inside the fridge. If you want to eat, you could eat it. Today I and your Ma have a business dinner. Wel’ll be home late.”

Sang Zhi replies; “Okay.”

Then she just closes it.

Duan Jia Xu is watching her, Sang Zhi notices it and looks at him. “What is it?”

Duan Jia Xu suddenly asks: “Who is Zhi Zhi?”

Sang Zhi feels strange: “You should know it?”

Duan Jia Xu laughs: “It’s your Ge?”

“What your Ge?” Sang Zhi feels baffled. “It’s me, it’s my nickname.”

“Em,” Duan Jia Xu takes the teapot and pours the tea to her cup. She asks: “Why I don’t see your Ge call you that way?”

“He will call me that way once in a while.” Sang Zhi says: “But it’s a rare thing.”

“Who usually call you that way?”

“My Pa Ma ah.” Sang Zhi considers, “Then my Jiu Jiu (Uncle), A Yi (Auntie)… anyway those who are closer to me.”

Duan Jia Xu: “em.”

After a while.” Duan Jia Xu says casually: “Who is Ge Ge no 2?”

“………” Sang Zhi’s expression is unchanged. She points to Sang Yan: “Number 1.”

Then she points to Duan Jia Xu: “Number 2.”

“Why do I become your Ge Ge no.2?” Duan Jia Xu leans on his chair and looks at her. He says leisurely: “Your Ge Ge just admit me as your Di?”

Sang Zhi looks at him and reminds. “My Ge is younger than you.”

“The age in my identity card is a fake one.” Duan Jia Xu laughs: “I just make it older, actually I’m younger.”

“Then what is your reality age?”

“Em.” Duan Jia Xu says: “I was born in 1996.”

“…….” Sang Zhi is surprised by his shamelessness, she glares at him and says slowly: “It sounds okay if you say you were born in 1990, how could you say you were born in 1996?”

“Why?”

“I see you look like someone that was born in 1969.”

Who do you want to lie to?

This man is old but he wants to act like he is eighteen years old.”

Duan Jia Xu raises his eyebrows: “What are you talking about?”

With his words and also his previous action with Sang Yan, Sang Zhi says hesitatingly: “Ge Ge, today why are you acting so strange? Are you feeling that a lot of people say that you are old recently?”

“Sang Zhi, your Ge is here too.” Duan Jia Xu raises up his cup and drinks it. “When you call “Ge Ge”, who do you calling me? Is it me or your Ge?”

Sang Zhi pauses: “In the past why didn’t you complain about it?”

Duan Jia Xu: “Doesn’t it because your Ge isn’t present?”

“Oh, Jia Xu Ge.” Sang Zhi doesn’t really mind about this. She continues to ask: “Is it because the time you go to the blind date, that other person turn up one’s nose at you?”

“Blind date?” Mentioning this, Duan Jia Xu asks: “I heard that you want me to group up with your Ge to blind-date?”

“I just give both you guys a suggestion.” Sang Zhi says seriously. “Isn’t blind date same like keep up a friendship?”

Duan Jia Xu laughs: “But your Ge isn’t happy ah.”

Sang Zhi doesn’t speak up anymore, Duan Jia Xu bends over slightly and leans closer to her. He asks: “If not, you group up with me?”

She is startled for several seconds, Sang Zhi understands: “You ask me to go with you for blind-date?”

Duan Jia Xu: “……….”

Sang Zhi’s mood is unhappy: “How could I go with you for the blind date, someone has any opinion.”

“Em?” Duan Jia Xu asks: “What opinion?”

“They will say .” Sang Zhi says slowly: “you go to blind date and bring your daughter.”

“……..”

—–

After the wedding feast, there’re bantering and jokes newly-weds on their wedding day.

It’s impossible for Sang Zhi to follow it, she notices that the time is late. She says to Sang Yan then takes initiative to says several blessing sentences to Qian Fei.

Now it’s almost 09:00 p.m.

Sang Yan drinks beer so Sang Zhi doesn’t plan to let him send her home. She knows this area so she plans to take bus back home.

She exits the wedding feast hall and waits for the elevator.

After a while, she hears Duan Jia Xu’s voice from behind her. “Why are you leaving so fast?”

Sang Zhi turns her head and says casually: “Are you leaving?”

“No.” Duan Jia Xu plays with his car key and lowers his eyes. “It’s late, if not I’ll send you home first.”

Sang Zhi looks at the car key on his hand, it looks like Sang Yan’s car key. “You aren’t drinking?”

Duan Jia Xu: “Em.”

“It’s better not.” This time the elevator has arrived, Sang Zhi gets inside. “It’s better if I could get the bus to go home. Jia Xu Ge, so you’ll not go round and round. It’ll be too troublesome for you.”

“It’s okay.” Duan Jia Xu looks at her and smiles: “It’ll be too troublesome if I send other people.”

“……”

Sang Zhi pursues her lips and says nothing.

Duan Jia Xu changes the topic of conversation: “When do you plan to go back to the University?”

“Tomorrow so I need to go home and pack up.” Sang Zhi says: “In two days, the class will start again.”

“Em, I also go back tomorrow.” Duan Jia Xu says: “What time is your ticket?”

“My Ge is the one that booked it.” Sang Zhi takes out her phone and says: “I also forget about the time, I’ll take a look now.”

The elevator reaches the basement floor.

“Okay, then take a look at it.”

Sang Zhi looks at it and say: “Tomorrow morning 08:20 a.m. flight.”

“My ticket—” Duan Jia Xu takes out his phone and sees symbolically, he says naturally: “also at 08:20 a.m., then should we go together?”

Sang Zhi glances at him and nods.

They look for Sang Yan’s car and gets on the car.

Duan Jia Xu is about to fasten his seatbelt, but he feels something inside his pocket. He takes it out and notices that it’s the red envelope, which he took from Sang Yan before. “Your red envelope?”

Sang Zhi glances at him and doesn’t move: “You want to return it to me?”

“Em.” Duan Jia Xu laughs: “For our Zhi Zhi.”

Except the last time she was drunk, it’s the first time for Sang Zhi to hear him call her that way. Her breath stops, she plays unconsciously with her zipper on her top. “Why are you calling me that way?”

Duan Jia Xu says lazily: “Didn’t you say that closest to you will call you that way?”

Sang Zhi just says “Oh” unnaturally. She doesn’t take her red envelope. “Just take it, before you called my Ge Ge that way. If you return it to me, wouldn’t you suffer a loss?”

“For our Zhi Zhi.” Duan Jia Xu looks at her for a while, then just shifts his gaze. He smiles: “How could I suffer a loss?”

“…..”

Sang Zhi says nothing else and just takes the red envelope. She then fastens her seatbelt and looks at the scenery outside.

The car moves, for a moment the atmosphere in the car is silent. Suddenly Sang Zhi speaks up. “Jia Xu Ge.”

“Em.”

“You see Qian Fei Ge, in the past when he was so drunk, he said that he couldn’t find a girlfriend.” Sang Zhi says: “Now he is married, he seems to really love that Jie Jie.”

“Em.”

“The time you see him.” Sang Zhi tries to form her words, she says slowly: “Don’t you have a thought that you want to find a partner too?”

“Recently how could you keep on asking me either to join blind date or find a girlfriend?” Duan Jia Xu finds this is hilarious. “I’m just twenty five years old. Why should I rush it?”

Sang Zhi: “Then till when will you wait? Even my Ge has someone to pursue him?”

She also doesn’t want to urge him.

But she is afraid that he simply wouldn’t look, then no one could persuade him to find someone.

Next year he would spend it alone again.

When he is ill, he doesn’t go to the doctor. He always does everything alone.

Inside the car, a soft music is played.

Duan Jia Xu’s facial features are distinct. The dim light of the road makes his aura turns even gentler. His gaze is looking forward, he seems to be indifferent.

Looking at his silent, Sang Zhi thinks that he feels that he is offended. She speaks up: “Don’t be unhappy. I just see that my Ma keeps on scolding my Ge, My Ge is unhappy. I also don’t want, ay.”

It’s not good to mention about family business, she also doesn’t know how to explain. She just says in low voice: “I’ll not talk about it anymore.”

Duan Jia Xu suddenly says: “How old are you now?”

She doesn’t know why he is asking that thing.

Sang Zhi is startled then thinks about. She says: “After this year, I’ll be nineteen.”

Then he says nothing more.

Sang Zhi is confused. “Why?”

Then she hears Duan Jia Xu laughs.

“Then a year more.

2 Replies to “Secretly, Secretly; But Unable to Hide it (偷偷藏不住) by Zhu Yi (竹已)~ Chapter 42”

Leave a comment